UCEMC Members to Choose Three Directors on August 26, 27

August 15, 2022

Carthage, TN. – One of the guiding principles of an electric cooperative is that it is a democratic organization controlled by its members who actively participate. Upper Cumberland Electric Membership Corporation is counting on eligible members to come out and vote to fill the seats of three board members whose terms are expiring.

Before the 84th Annual Meeting of the Members on September 10, 2022, members are encouraged to vote to fill these impending vacancies on the cooperative’s Board of Directors.

The Board comprises nine members; each year, at least three seats are up for election on a rotational basis. The terms of incumbent directors are expiring in District One, representing Smith, DeKalb, Macon, and Wilson counties; District Three, representing Overton, Clay, Fentress, and Pickett Counties; and District Four, representing Jackson County.

District 1 Candidate, C.D. (Digger) Poindexter, is the incumbent and is running unopposed in the election.

District 4 Candidate Jim Brown, the incumbent, is also running unopposed.

Candidate Stormy Halsell is challenging the incumbent James W. West for the District 3 seat on the Board.
Members may cast their ballots at any of the cooperative’s offices listed below. Due to ongoing construction at the Carthage District office, members will vote again this year at the UCEMC Corporate office at 907 Main Street North in Carthage.

The polls below are open Fri., August 26, and Sat., August 27, from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Carthage – UCEMC Corporate Office – 907 Main Street North, Carthage.
Cookeville – 1794 West Broad Street, Cookeville.
Livingston – 320 Celina Highway, Livingston.
Gainesboro – 1085 North Grundy Quarles Highway, Gainesboro.