During the February 2020 meeting of the Smith County Commission on Monday night, commissioners unanimously voted to pass a resolution declaring Smith County a “Second Amendment Sanctuary County.”

Mayor Mason presented the resolution to the commission, and a motion to approve the resolution  as written was made by District 8 Commissioner David Gross and seconded by District 8 Commissioner Frank Woodard. 

During discussion of the resolution, District 4 Commissioner Erika Ebel suggested a few grammatical and formatting corrections. Commissioner Ebel also presented four amendments to the wording of the resolution. None of her amendments received a second.

In a roll-call vote, the motion to approve Resolution 02-2020-05 with grammatical changes was passed unanimously.

The Second Amendment Sanctuary resolution reads as follows:

Resolution No. 02-2020-05

WHEREAS, the Constitution of the United States is the supreme law of our nation; and

WHEREAS, the citizens of Smith County, Tennessee recognize their duty as law-abiding citizens to act in accordance with the U.S. Constitution and the Tennessee Constitution; and

WHEREAS, the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution, adopted in 1791 as part of the Bill of Rights, protects the inalienable and individual right of the people to keep and bear arms; and

WHEREAS, the Tennessee Constitution, Article I, Section 26, declares: “That the citizens of this state have a right to keep and to bear arms for their common defense; but the Legislature shall have power, by law, to regulate the wearing of arms with a view to prevent crime”; and

WHEREAS, the United States Supreme Court has affirmed an individual’s right to possess firearms, unconnected with service in a militia, for traditionally lawful purposes, such as self-defense within the home; and

WHEREAS, Smith County Board of Commissioners each took an oath to support and defend the Constitution of the United States and the laws which are deemed constitutional by a court of competent jurisdiction; and

WHEREAS, it is the desire of the Smith County Commission to declare its support of the United States Constitution and the Second Amendment to protect the inalienable and individual right to keep and bear arms; and

WHEREAS, the Smith County Commission opposes any federal or state law that infringes on a citizen’s Second Amendment right to bear arms and encourage our representatives at both the state and federal level to refrain from supporting any such legislation. 

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Smith County Legislative Body has declared Smith County to be a “Second Amendment Sanctuary County” with all rights and responsibilities so entitled, furthermore, We the People of Smith County, Tennessee, through this resolution hereby declare our rights, our freedom, and our liberty as guaranteed by the Constitution of the United States of America.

Approved and adopted this 10th day of February 2020.

You can watch the full February 2020 Meeting of the Smith County Commission below.