CARTHAGE, Tenn.—Results are in for the November 6, 2018, General Election in Smith County, Tennessee. Polls were open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on November 6, and voters had the opportunity to vote early between October 17 and November 1.

Early voting numbers were strong all across the state. Across Tennessee, 1,378,840 voters cast their vote early. 3,810 of those voters were from Smith County.

On Election Day, many more Tennesseans made their voices heard. In Smith County, 2,795  voters showed up to the polls on November 6, bringing the total number of votes cast in Smith County to 6,605. This amounts to a voter turnout of 55.87%. 

Reports from the Smith County Election Commission detailing local election results began to come in around 7:45 p.m. on the night of November 6.

Results from the City of Carthage were among the first to come in. 

Sarah Marie Smith was elected Mayor of Carthage. She narrowly edged out her opponent, Incumbent Mayor Donnie Dennis by a total of 27 votes. Smith received 313 votes, compared to 286 votes for Dennis. 

Cole Ebel, Sam Petty, and Billy “Bill” K. Reece were elected Aldermen of Carthage.

369 (72.64%) Carthage citizens voted for the sale of wine in food stores, compared to 139 (27.36%) who voted against the referendum. 

Voters in the city of Gordonsville also elected three city Aldermen. John Potts, Michael Harpe, and Charles Proffit will now sit on the Gordonsville City Council. 

County-wide, voters voted for the repeal of the Sales Tax Referendum by a total of 3412 (58.36%) votes in favor and 2434 (41.64%) votes against.

Additionally, Terri Lynn Weaver will retain her seat as Tennessee State Representative. Weaver ran unopposed and received 4885 votes in Smith County, totaling 95.39% of votes cast in the county.

Mark Pody will also retain his seat as State Senator for District 17 in Tennessee. He won over Democratic opponent Mari Alice Carfi. In Smith County, Pody received 4052 votes (67.28%), compared to 1966 votes (32.64%) cast for Carfi.

John Rose has officially been declared the winner of the United States House of Representatives race. Rose will be the next Representative for Tennessee’s 6th Congressional District. Rose won out over Democratic opponent Dr. Dawn Barlow and Independent opponents David Ross and Lloyd Dunn. In Smith County, Rose received 4576 votes (75.81%). 

Marsha Blackburn emerged victorious over her opponent Phil Bredesen in the highly contested U.S. Senate race. Blackburn received 4310 votes (66.20%) in Smith County, compared to 2108 (32.38%) votes for Bredesen. 

Bill Lee was elected Governor of Tennessee, emerging victorious over Democratic opponent Karl Dean. Lee carried 72.38% of the vote in Smith County, compared to 26.78% for Dean.

For a complete list of election percentages and results in Smith County, visit the Smith County Election Commission website. 

For state-wide totals, visit the website of the Tennessee Secretary of State.