CARTHAGE, Tenn.— Many Smith County citizens took advantage of early voting ahead of tomorrow’s General Election. According to reports published by the Tennessee Secretary of State, a grand total of 3,793 Smith County voters participated in early voting.

Four years ago, only 2,274 voters chose to vote early in the November 2014 General Election, accounting for just under half of total votes cast.

Early voting in this election cycle began on October 17 and continued through November 1. 

Election Day is set for Tuesday, November 6, 2018. Registered voters will be able to cast their votes at their precinct location anytime between 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m.

Read below to see the voting locations for all 8 Districts in Smith County:

District 1 – Defeated 

The Carver Barn

315 Defeated Creek Highway

Carthage, TN 37030


District 2 – Tanglewood 

Smith County Motor Company

211 Dixon Springs Highway

Carthage, TN 37030


District 3 – New Middleton

New Middleton Elementary School

402 New Middleton Highway

Gordonsville, TN 38563


District 4 – Rock City

Union Heights Elementary School

663 Lebanon Highway

Carthage, TN 37030


District 5 – Gordonsville

Gordonsville Municipal Building

63 Main Street East

Gordonsville, TN 38563


District 6 – Carthage 

Chamber of Commerce

939 Upper Ferry Road 

Carthage, TN 37030


District 7 – South Carthage

Senior Citizens Building

120 Pauline Gore Way, Suite B

Carthage, TN 37030


District 8 – Elmwood

Forks River Elementary School

611 Cookeville Highway

Elmwood, TN 38560


The November 2018 ballot will include candidates for Tennessee Governor, U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives (6th Congressional District), TN State Senate (17th District), and TN House of Representatives (40th District). Smith County citizens will also be able to vote for or against the Sales Tax Referendum.

Citizens of Carthage will cast their votes for Mayor of Carthage and three City Aldermen. They will also be able to vote for or against the sale of wine at retail and food stores in Carthage. 

Citizens of Gordonsville will vote for three City Aldermen. 

Please remember that Smith County residents must be registered to vote and must be able to present a valid photo ID issued by the Tennessee or U.S. government in order to vote in the November 6 election. 

For more information, visit the Smith County Election Commission website.