Early voting down 30%; Election Day set for August 4, 2022

August 2, 2022

Residents across the county had the chance to cast the ballots early for the August 4 election that includes elections for almost all county offices; however, the number of early votes cast has been significantly lower than the previous county general election held in 2018. According to Smith County Election Administrator Yvonne Gibbs, early voting is down approximately 30%, with only 2,138 early votes being cast compared to 3,135 at the end of early voting during the same election cycle in 2018.

An analysis of the Tennessee Secretary of State’s early voting shows that Smith County is not unique in lower turnout during the early voting period. Tennessee has seen 135,000 fewer ballots cast during early voting across the state, equating to a 22.1% decrease statewide.

Smith County residents who did not vote early will have the chance to cast their votes on Election Day, which is set for Thursday, August 4, 2022. Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Citizens can vote at their respective polling places. Below is a list of the polling places by district:

District 1 – Defeated:
The Carver Barn
315 Defeated Creek Hwy
Carthage, TN 37030

District 2 – Tanglewood:
Smith County Motor Co.
211 Dixon Springs Hwy
Carthage, TN 37030

District 3 – New Middleton:
New Middleton Elementary School
402 New Middleton Hwy
Gordonsville, TN 38563

District 4 – Rock City:
Union Heights Elementary School
663 Lebanon Hwy
Carthage, TN 37030

District 5 – Gordonsville:
Gordonsville Civic Center
63 Main Street, East
Gordonsville, TN 38563

District 6 – Carthage:
Smith County Chamber of Commerce
939 Upper Ferry Rd.
Carthage, TN 37030

District 7 – South Carthage
Senior Citizens Bldg
120 Pauline Gore Way Suite B
Carthage, TN 37030

District 8 – Elmwood:
Forks River Elementary School
611 Cookeville Hwy
Elmwood, TN 38560

Citizens may view a full sample ballot here. Please remember that Smith County residents must be registered to vote and must be able to present a valid photo ID issued by the Tennessee or U.S. government to vote in the August 4 election.