Pictured from left to right are UCDD Director Mark Farley; Smith County Mayor Michael Nesbitt; Carthage Mayor Donnie Dennis; Dr. Patrick Geho; UCDD ECD Director Tommy Lee; and UCDD ECD Assistant Director Virginia Solimine


CARTHAGE, Tenn.—On May 14, 2018, Smith County was awarded Community of the Year by the Upper Cumberland Development District.

The following is an excerpt from the award presentation: 

“We would like to recognize Smith County as this year’s Community of the Year. City and County Leadership work tirelessly on behalf of the citizens to improve the quality of life for residents and businesses in the community. 

They apply aggressively for grant opportunities in all realms of tourism, economic development, disaster relief and preparation, safety, solid waste and community development. They place high priority on planning for the future, economic development, historic preservation, health and wellness, community activities, education, and the fiscal strength of their community, among other areas.

Their dedication to preparing for industrial growth shows through their pursuit of funds for industrial development, including a loan with USDA and the successful receipt of two grants to assist with site preparation: an InvestPrep Grant from TVA and a $1,000,000 Site Development Grant from TN ECD. 

This could not have been accomplished without the seamless teamwork between local leadership, IDB, county, cities, chamber, regional partners, etc. 

Congratulations to the leadership of Smith County for your many accomplishments and for being named this year’s Community of the Year!”