The following article was submitted by Vivian Reynolds, Registered Leader, Scouts BSA:

Michael Nesbitt (middle) received the 2019 Smith County Good Scout Award, the highest honor bestowed for individual or corporate citizenship in local communities by the Middle Tennessee Council of the Boy Scouts of America. The award was presented by Pat Nixon (right), chair of the Smith County Friends of Scouting. Also Pictured: Tracey Rodenbach (left).

Community and business leaders who support Scouting were in attendance for the annual Smith County Friends of Scouting breakfast sponsored by Bass & Bass, Attorneys, prepared by Scout leaders (David Bass, Steven Lish, David Oyster, Rocca Vincent) and served at the Carthage United Methodist Church on April 4, 2019.

The Middle Tennessee Council of the Boy Scouts of America chose Michael Nesbitt (Smith County mayor 2002-August 2018) to be honored at the breakfast as the 2019 recipient of the Good Scout Award. To be considered to receive the award, one must exemplify the spirit of the Scout Oath and Law by helping others and doing their best at all times. The Good Scout Award distinguishes those who go above and beyond expectations and celebrates those who truly make a difference in our community, not only because they care, but because they act.

In addition to his service while in elected office, Nesbitt has professional experience in owning and operating a small auto parts business and in managerial banking positions which total more than thirty years of service to the Smith County community. As mayor, he has given direction, financial oversight, and sometimes personal assistance to several Scouts as they pursued Eagle Scout Community Service Projects which have enhanced the Smith County community.  He continues to serve the public through his membership in various organizations and boards to include Carthage Rotary Club, Emmanuel House, and Southside Lion’s Club.  

Preceding comments from Nesbitt, Tracey Rodenbach (Walton Trail District Commissioner) spoke about the importance of Scouting; Anthony Morris, Eagle Scout, Troop 367, spoke about what it means to earn the Eagle Scout Medal; and Wyatt Stark, Bear Scout, Pack 367 delivered the invocation.